Professional on-line Social Networks Week 30-Activity 6

 

“Social networks might be described as a phenomenon of the modern age. There is a plethora of online spaces that aim to make facetoface socialconnections visible. The meteoric rise of leviathans such as Facebook,Twitter and LinkedIn stand on the shoulders of predecessors such asFriendster, MySpace, SixDegrees.com, LiveJournal and Ryze.com(boyd &Ellison, 2007) in (Melhuish 2013).

Eventhough, I am frequent social media user in my personal life, I am yet to truly engage in using social online networks in my teaching and professional development. I have Facebook & Instgram account which I use alot but I have yet to interact online even on our Auckland Central MindLabCentral16  FB page which has a good hearty 19 memebership. I have read the wonderful blogs and just pressed LIKED but yet to interact and provide feedback. I have a twitter and pintrest account and have tagged inspirational educational posters and shared in my classroom but have not actually interacted with the potential Professional on-line Social Networks, I am sure will provide great feedback for my teaching.

Since my school prefernce is still OFFICE Outlook and yet to fully engaged with the opportunities of Professional on-line Social Networks .  I have been actively engaged in implementing  all my classes from Junior  to Senior level to Office apps first, but prefer google apps which I feel is much more interactive such as GOOGLE Forms allows me to gauge with student instant feedback about  the students learning but also how I teach, which has been very valuable.

office-2016

 

google-apps-homepage

The benefit of adding a social media component to my practice, especially google classroom is that it does allow my to have differentiated learning actively happening. Students work at their own pace and are able to share, comment although I have observed student comments continue to still be more social and off task.  I  do feel more comfortable in using google classroom as I am familiar with it and students are too, since many come from feeder schools who are totally emersed in online social networks. And it has not taken too much to set up and get the students engaged.  There is a great deal of opportunity for my colleagues and department if we were to be fully engaged such as the google forms sent to us by my Senior Leaders Team (SLT) to gauge with our understanding and provide feedback in their leadership too.  Provides the sense of connectiveness within the staff. The support from my Professional on-line Social Networks in particular the fellow colleagues from the Auckland Central 2016 Intake FB page, google + comunity has been supportive and having another colleague from school do the course together has been invaluable.

google-classroom-a-differentiation-strategy-7The potential challenges would be going over protocol of writing on the google classroom page and understanding the purpose of the forum. It is also an opportunity to remind of safe pratice of using Social Media and for the School values of “Respect and Responsibility” is constantly reinforced.  Using social online networks in teaching and professional development continues to be brutally honest has been an uncomfortable process for me and perhaps my achillies heel and the major reason for my procrastination in providing online interaction with this course.  Although “robust finding from studies of human psychology applied to education is the value of feedback to learning…It is most successful when the feedback helps a learner to improve, by finding out how to correcta misunderstanding, or to build new knowledge in reaching a goal” Source: Sharples, M., de Roock , R., Ferguson, R., Gaved, M., Herodotou, C., Koh, E., Kukulska-Hulme, A., Looi,C-K, McAndrew, P., Rienties, B., Weller, M., Wong, L. H. (2016).  Just writing these blogs and pressing PUBLISH has been a nerve racking experience for me because of my own insecruities, which probably is the same for my of my own students when sending through work online.

Social media is a supportive learning tool to lift engagement and provide a platform for professional development.  “A profession that seeks to keep talking and growing in a collaborative way forthe sake of its members and for its students must surely have an encouraging future ahead.”(Melhuish 2013).

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAe3AAAAJDVkZTY5ODFmLTEzODEtNDg1Yy1hMTIzLWVhZDQyOTQ2NTJkYw

References

Melhuish, K.(2013). Online social networking and its impact on New Zealand educators’ professional learning. Master Thesis. The University of Waikato. Retrived on 05 May, 2015 from http://researchcommons.waikato.ac.nz/bitstream/han…

Sharples, M., de Roock , R., Ferguson, R., Gaved, M., Herodotou, C., Koh, E., Kukulska-Hulme, A., Looi,C-K, McAndrew, P., Rienties, B., Weller, M., Wong, L. H. (2016). Innovating Pedagogy 2016: Open University Innovation Report 5. Milton Keynes: The Open University. Retrieved fromhttp://proxima.iet.open.ac.uk/public/innovating_pedagogy_2016.pdf

 

Leave a Reply

